The finalists of Love Island 2021. But who was crowned the winning couple? (Picture: Matt Frost/ITV/REX/Shutterstock)

Cancel all your evening plans and get your sun hat ready – Love Island is set to return for 2022.

The hit series will be back on our television screens next week ready to help singletons search for love.

With a brand new cast of stars set to bring the heat in a new villa, this season is set to be the highlight of the TV calendar for the summer.

Love Island’s executive producer has also hinted at a possible ‘all-stars’ spin-off series in the future.

But who won the last series of Love Island?

Here is the rundown on all of the previous Love Island winners and more details about the upcoming season…

Who won Love Island 2021?

Millie Court and Liam Reardon took home £50,000 after being crowned the winners of Love Island 2021.

More than three million people tuned in to watch the final, with Chloe Burrows and Toby Aromolaran voted runners up.

Faye Winter and Teddy Soares came in third place, and Kaz Kamwi and Tyler Cruickshank came fourth.

Millie and Liam were the first pair of bombshells to be crowned winners of the series, with the couple remaining a tight unit despite a mishap in Casa Amor between Liam and Lillie Haynes.

The pair are currently still in a relationship and living together.

Millie Court and Liam Reardon are still together after winning Love Island in 2021. (Picture: Getty Images)

Full list of previous Love Island winners

There have been 292 episodes of Love Islands across seven seasons, with seven couples being crowned winners and taking home the prize money.

The first winners of the show were Jess Hayes and Max Morley, who went on to split six weeks after the final.

Nathan Massey and Cara de la Hoyde took home the crown in the second series of the show but split less than a year later.

However, the couple eventually reunited and went on to marry in 2019 and have two children.

Season three winners Amber Davies and Kem Cetinay’s relationship played out speedily onscreen, but the couple ended up splitting six months after the show aired.

Danny Dyer’s daughter Dani Dyer and beau Jack Fincham won season four of the show in 2018 after being fan favourites from the start of the season.

Despite moving in together and buying an adorable bulldog puppy, the couple announced they had split after being together for nine months.

Jack Fincham and Dani Dyer were favourites to win the show, but split after nine months together (Picture: Getty Images)

Amber Gill and Greg O’Shea took the crown from Dani and Jack during season five of Love Island.

The couple weren’t together long before the final of the show and split just five weeks after it ended.

Season six saw Paige Turley and Finn Tapp become the first-ever winners of the winter series in South Africa.

Though split rumours have plagued the couple, Paige took to Instagram earlier this year to confirm she and Finn are still together.

When does the 2022 series start?

To view this video please enable JavaScript, and consider upgrading to a web
browser that
supports HTML5

Love Island will be back on our screens from 9pm on June 6 on ITV2.

Viewers will also be able to watch the show on ITV Hub.

The series will see a brand new cast on the search for love, including the first-ever deaf contestant Tasha Ghouri.

Footballer Michael Owen’s daughter Gemma Owen is also set to take part in this year’s Love Island.

The cast is completed by paramedic Paige Thorne, senior microbiology Dami Hope, hotel waitress Indiyah Polack, masters student Liam Llewellyn, business owner Davide Sanclimenti, pharmaceutical salesperson Ikenna Ekwonna, real estate agent Andrew Le Page, nanny Amber Beckford, and fishmonger Luca Bish.

Host Laura Whitmore will also return to the show.

Love Island starts on June 6 at 9pm on ITV2.

MORE : I went to the new Love Island villa and the reality is not what I expected

MORE : How many Love Island contestants are there per series?

Follow Metro across our social channels, on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram

Share your views in the comments below